Jean-Paul Jérôme

Paintings for sale ?

web

Need art evaluation ?

web

Jean-Paul Jérôme , a great artist and abstract painter

Jean-Paul Jérôme artist-painter, draftsman, sculptor, plastician, central figure of abstraction in Quebec was born in Montreal, Quebec on February 19, 1928 (died August 14, 2004). He studied at the École des beaux-arts de Montréal from 1945 to 1952. Jean-Paul Jérôme was one of the signatories of the “Manifeste Plasticiens” (which dissociates itself from Automatistes) and co-founder of this movement in 1955 with Jauran (Rodolphe de Repentigny), Louis Belzile and Fernand Toupin. He stayed in Paris from 1956 to 1958. In 1978, he became a member of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts.

A painter of many talents

Jean-Paul Jérôme expressed his art through several mediums such as: acrylic, wood, ceramic, ink, oil, brass, pastel, tapestry, glass, etc. In the “Manifeste Plasticiens” the group indicates that “the Plasticians attach themselves above all, in their work, to the plastic facts: tone, texture, forms, lines, the final unity that is the painting, and the relationships between these elements, elements assumed as ends.” “All my life, I loved the purity of the form, the resonance of the color.” Jean-Paul Jérôme

Jean-Paul Jérôme’s works can be found in several public or private collections in Canada (including the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, the Canadian Museum of Fine Arts, the Montreal Museum of Contemporary Art, the National Museum of Beaux-arts du Québec, the Musée d’art de Joliette, the Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke, the Musée régional de Rimouski, the Musée du Bas-Saint-Laurent, etc.) and in Europe.

ADDITIONAL ARTICLE (S):

Jean-Paul Jérôme (1928)

Jean-Paul Jérôme’s work will pass through several phases during his long career. In the mid-1950s, he designed works which, although already non-figurative and with a geometric tendency, remained suggestive. The paintings from this period bear a kinship, distant but no less real, with those of Cubist inspiration, which he realized in the very early 1950s.

His plastic preoccupation, to modulate the surface by a play of dynamic forms, results in an interaction of masses created by a certain formal fluidity. The works of 1954-1955 are, in this sense, particularly inspired. Very early, however, he abandoned the geometric rigor of plastician artists. After a period of research and reflection, he returns with very suggestive abstract landscapes.

Jérôme has always shown a marked taste for change. So in his work, not only does the artist take multiple paths, but he rarely relies on the same bases for long. The pace of the various transformations is particularly rapid.

Upon his return to Montreal in 1958, after a three-year stay in Paris, Jean-Paul Jérôme began a career in teaching the plastic arts, to which he devoted himself until 1973. Thereafter, he devoted himself almost exclusively to his work. In the 1980s, his pictorial space, essentially energized by the line, became very geometric. His palette is generally composed of folded tones and earth colors. Unlike plastician artists, he explores through complex structures, a surface or depth of field plays a major role. At the beginning of the 1990s, it was an explosion. Color, lively, brilliant, sweeps over both his paintings and his sculptures. Jérôme displays a revival as we rarely see in the artistic world. Its refined forms are surrounded by masses or black lines that animate and upset the surface. The great Jérôme!

Source : Robert Bernier, La Peinture au Québec depuis les années 1960s, Les Éditions de l’Homme, 2002, Jean-Paul Jérôme (1928), pages 90-91.

TO LEARN MORE:

S'INSCRIRE À L'INFOLETTRE

© 2021 All rights reserved Galerie Nuances  Conception Web par Propagam

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

© 2021 All rights reserved Galerie Nuances  Conception Web par Propagam

0
    0
    Your cart
    Your cart is empty Return to the shop

Jean-Paul Jérôme

Évaluez le prix de vos tableaux

Un tableau à vendre?

web

web

Jean-Paul Jérôme , un grand artiste peintre abstrait

Grand maître canadien, Jean-Paul Jérôme, ARC (Académie Royal des arts du Canada)artiste-peintre, dessinateur, sculpteur, plasticien, figure centrale de l’abstraction au Québec est né à Montréal, Québec le 19 février 1928 (décédé le 14 août 2004). Il fait ses études à l’École des beaux-arts de Montréal de 1945 à 1952. Jean-Paul Jérôme fut l’un des signataires du « Manifeste Plasticiens » (qui se dissocie des Automatistes) et cofondateur de ce mouvement en 1955 avec Jauran (Rodolphe de Repentigny), Louis Belzile et Fernand Toupin. Il fait un séjour à Paris de 1956 à 1958. En 1978, il devient membre de l’Académie Royale des arts du Canada. 

Un peintre aux multiples talents

Jean-Paul Jérôme a exprimé son art à travers plusieurs mediums tels que : l’acrylique, le bois, la céramique, l’encre, l’huile, le laiton, le pastel, la tapisserie, le verre, etc. Dans le « Manifeste des Plasticiens » le groupe indique « les Plasticiens s’attachent avant tout, dans leur travail, aux faits plastiques : ton, texture, formes, lignes, unité finale qu’est le tableau, et les rapports entre ces éléments, éléments assumés comme fins. » « Toute ma vie, j’ai aimé la pureté de la forme, la résonance de la couleur. » Jean-Paul Jérôme

Les œuvres de Jean-Paul Jérôme se retrouvent dans plusieurs collections publiques ou privées au Canada (dont le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Montréal, le Musée des Beaux-Arts du Canada, le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, le Musée d’art de Joliette, le Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke, le Musée régional de Rimouski, le Musée du Bas-Saint-Laurent, etc.) et en Europe.

ARTICLE(S) ADDITIONNEL(S):

Jean-Paul Jérôme (1928)

L’œuvre de Jean-Paul Jérôme traversera plusieurs phases au cours de sa longue carrière. Au milieu des années 1950, il conçoit des œuvres qui, bien que déjà non figuratives et à tendance géométrique, demeurent suggestives. Les tableaux de cette période gardent une parenté, lointaine mais non moins réelle, avec ceux d’inspiration cubiste, qu’il a réalisé au tout début des années 1950.  

Sa préoccupation plastique, moduler la surface par un jeu de formes dynamiques, se traduit par une interaction de masses créée par une certaine fluidité formelle. Les œuvres de 1954-1955 sont, en ce sens, particulièrement inspirées. Très tôt cependant, il délaisse la rigueur géométrique des plasticiens. Après une période de recherche et de réflexion, il revient avec des paysages abstraits très suggestifs.

Jérôme a toujours montré un goût marqué pour le changement. Ainsi dans son travail, non seulement l’artiste emprunte de multiples voies, mais il s’appuie rarement longtemps sur les mêmes bases. Le rythme des diverses transformations est particulièrement rapide. 

À son retour à Montréal, en 1958, après un séjour de trois ans à Paris, Jean-Paul Jérôme commence une carrière dans l’enseignement des arts plastiques, à laquelle il se vouera jusqu’en 1973. Par la suite, il se consacre presque exclusivement à son œuvre. Dans les années 1980, son espace pictural, essentiellement dynamisé par la ligne, devient très géométrisé. Sa palette se compose généralement de tons rabattus et de couleurs de terre. Contrairement aux plasticiens, il explore par le truchement de structures complexes, une surface où la profondeur de champ joue un rôle majeur. Au début des années 1990, c’est l’explosion. La couleur, vive, éclatante, déferle tant dans sa peinture que dans sa sculpture. Jérôme affiche un renouveau comme on voit rarement dans le milieu artistique. Ses formes épurées sont cernées par des masses ou des lignes noires qui animent et bouleverse la surface. Du grand Jérôme ! 

Source : Robert Bernier, La peinture au Québec depuis les années 1960, Les Éditions de l’Homme, 2002, Jérôme Jean-Paul Jérôme (1928), page 90-91.

POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE:​

S'INSCRIRE À L'INFOLETTRE

© 2021 All rights reserved Galerie Nuances  Conception Web par Propagam

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

© 2021 All rights reserved Galerie Nuances  Conception Web par Propagam

0
    0
    Votre panier
    Votre panier est videRetour à la boutique